Monday, 21 May 2018

Laurie Anderson - O Superman (Marcello Giordani Disco Spacer Mix) electronic electro italo disco DJ USE ONLY UNRELEASED REMIX

“O Superman (For Massenet)” was initially released as a single from Laurie Anderson first studio album, Big Science. It became an unexpected pop hit, reaching #2 on the UK singles chart in 1981.

Originally, the single was a limited release of 1,000 copies that Anderson had only made because her friend, indie label owner and fellow Whitney Museum art teacher B. George had convinced her to let him release it. Says George of the recording:

We got a National Endowment grant for $500 and she recorded it in her hallway because it was the quietest place she could find. I suggested she slow it down slightly to make it longer – it ended up eight minutes long – so I’d get paid more royalties if it was played on the radio.

Soon after its release, George began working on his book, Volume: The International Discography of the New Wave. Legendary British DJ John Peel bought a copy of Volume and was so impressed, he brought George to his radio programme to give his audience a sampling of new and interesting music from New York. George brought “O Superman”.

Suddenly, the song was played all over the radio in the UK, demand skyrocketed and Anderson got an offer from a British company to press 80,000 copies of “O Superman”. She’d previously been offered recording contracts by Warner Bros. A&R men at her concerts, but had refused every time – however, with this newfound success headed her way, she went back to them and asked if they could press 80,000 copies of her single. They immediately signed her to an eight-album deal.

“Superman” was originally part of Anderson’s larger performance art piece entitled The United States, which depicted vignettes of American life through performance art, spoken word, dance, animation and music.

It is a cryptic song, with lyrics warning against the U.S. reliance on a strong military presence worldwide. It’s musical structure is formed from a repeating four-bar loop of Anderson saying the word “ha”. It is accompanied throughout the song by synthesisers, off-tempo vocal loops, and a sample of birdsong.

In a 2016 interview with The Guardian, Anderson describes “O Superman” as:

…a one-sided conversation, like a prayer to God. It sounds sinister – but it is sinister when you start talking to power.

The song was inspired by the failed 1980 attempt to rescue the 52 men and women being held hostage in the American Embassy in Iran. Says Anderson:

We were left with dead bodies, a pile of burning debris and the hostages nowhere to be seen. So I thought I’d write a song about all that and the failure of technology.

In an interview with GRITtv, Anderson said:

“O Superman” was written at a time of great “techno-humiliation”… People realized “Oh my God, technology will not save you now, and the so-called U.S. ‘great technology’ is just crashing and burning.

O Superman (For Massenet)
Laurie Anderson
Produced by Roma Baran & Laurie Anderson
1982 Album Big Science (Warner)
2016 DJ Remix: Marcello Giordani (Italy)

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha...

O Superman. O Judge. O Mom and Dad. Mom and Dad
O Superman. O Judge. O Mom and Dad. Mom and Dad
Mom and Dad, Ah ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Hi. I'm not home right now
But if you want to leave a message
Just start talking at the sound of the tone

Ah, ah
Ah, ah, ah, ah

Hello? This is your Mother. Are you there?
Are you coming home?

Ah, ah, ah

Hello? Is anybody home?
Well, you don't know me, but I know you
And I've got a message to give to you
Here come the planes

So you better get ready. Ready to go
You can come as you are, but pay as you go. Pay as you go

Ah ah ah ah ah

And I said: OK. Who is this really? And the voice said:
This is the hand, the hand that takes
This is the hand, the hand that takes
This is the hand, the hand that takes
Here come the planes
They're American planes. Made in America
Smoking or non-smoking?

Ah, ah
Ah ah ah ah

And the voice said: Neither snow nor rain nor gloom of night
Shall stay these couriers from the swift completion
Of their appointed rounds


Tuesday, 8 May 2018

ITALO DISCO RETRO CLASSIX VOL.8 (Non-Stop 80s Hits Mix) Various Artists


01 Mark Adams - I Know Your Mind (instrumental) [FDT Records Italy] 1986
02 Larry Day - Fashion Girl (instrumental) [FDT Records Italy] 1984
03 Knight Action - Single Girl [Let's Dance, USA] 1984
04 Monika - (Won't You) Dance With Me [Manhattan-Formula, Canada] 1984
05 RAF - Running Away [Carrere Records Italy] 1984
06 Cockroach - Get Back (dub version) [Out Records Italy] 1983
07 Trilogy - Not Love (instrumental) [Il Discotto Productions] 1982
08 The New York Models - Hot For You (extended mix) [Memo Records USA] 1985
09 Talko - Psyko Flash [BabalĂș Records, Italy] 1983
10 Bagarre - Chances To Come-Eve Of The War [Bootlegs Records, Italy] 1984
11 John Carpenter - Die Klapperschlange/Escape From New York [ZYX Records] 1983
12 Stacey Q - Shy Girl [On The Spot Records, USA] 1985
13 Robotiko Rejekto - Rejekto (presentation mix) [ZYX Records] 1987
14 Eddy Trauba & M.M. Greco - Maccaroni Radio [Master Dee Jay, Italy] 1983
15 Squires - Hold Me (instrumental) [Quartz Record, Italy] 1983
16 Thomas - Another Game [Panarecord, Italy] 1986
17 Sue Sadlow - My Man (radio version) [Blow Up Disco, Italy] 1984
18 Doctors Cat - Feel The Drive (instrumental) [Il Discotto Productions] 1983
19 Jimy K - She's Gone Away [Eyes Records, Italy] 1984
20 First Patrol - Theme From Rambo (jungle version) [Rush Records, Europe] 1985
21 Webo - Magic Moment (instrumental) [Atlantide Music, Italy] 1984

Mix DMP Disco Sintetico
Design, Artwork, Remastering by Retro


Thursday, 3 May 2018

HIGH ENERGY - Classic Hi-NRG Mix (non-stop 80s dance) retro disco hi-nrg [remastered club mix]


1.  So Many Men (So Little Time) - Miquel Brown (Record Shack, 1983)
2.  Searchin' (Looking For Love) - Hazell Dean (Proto, 1983)

3.  Catch Me (I'm Falling In Love) - Marsha Raven (Passion, 1983)

4.  Earthquake - The Flirtations (Proto, 1983)

5.  Coming Out Of Hiding - Pamala Stanley (TSR, 1983)

6.  You Think You're A Man - Divine (Proto, 1984)

7.  La Cage Aux Folles - Le JetĂ© (Megatone, 1983)

8.  I Love Men - Eartha Kitt (Record Shack, 1984)

9.  I Am What I Am - Gloria Gaynor (Silver Blue, 1983)

10.  It's Too Late - Simone (KRP, 1983)

11.  The Power Of Love - Astaire (Passion Records, 1984)